Ashdown Logo

House Government and Officers

Ashdown residents play a key role in dorm operations and management. The main people responsible for running the dorm are the Ashdown House Executive Committee (AHEC) and the many Ashdown officers. The procedures on voting and elections are described in the Ashdown House Constitution and the Ashdown Election Policy.

If you are an Ashdown Officer:

Ashdown House Executive Committee (AHEC)

AHEC consists of five residents and is elected annually in the Spring. The five positions are Chair, Vice-Chair, Officer Coordinator and Secretary. The AHEC Chair presides over the weekly AHEC meetings and acts as the primary liaison to the MIT administration and other student groups. The Treasurer keeps track of the available funds, writes proposals for outside funding sources, and coordinates reimbursements for purchases made by Ashdown officers. The Vice-Chair assists the Chair in their duties, acts in their place when they are absent and is also responsible for running all in-house room lotteries. The Officer Coordinator maintains a list of current Ashdown officers and assigns seniority points accordingly. Finally, the Secretary is primarily responsible for taking minutes at AHEC meetings.

AHEC meets every Thursday evening in the Crafts Lounge to discuss dorm-related issues. These meetings are open to the entire Ashdown community. All residents are encouraged to attend, whether they have something to contribute or simply want to listen. Residents are also free to bring up problems or concerns at AHEC meetings. If you have something to add to the agenda, please email ahec (at)

The current AHEC members are:

Madeleine Sutherland

Peng Qian
External Affairs Coordinator

Aniket Patankar
Internal Affairs Coordinator

Alexandra Straub(steighner)
Officer Coordinator

Mohit Karnani

Ashdown Officers

Everything Ashdown does, from caring for fish to planning dance parties to keeping the pianos in tune, is powered by our officers — residents who have volunteered their time to help out the dorm. Even though the positions have varied responsibilities, all of them are important in keeping the building running smoothly.

For their hard work, officers are rewarded with up to 3 seniority points per term. This gives them a huge advantage in our in-house lottery.

A current listing of officer positions is given below. Please contact if any of these jobs sound appealing to you, or if you just want to help make Ashdown a better place. Additionally, feel free to suggest new officer positions that are more aligned with your interests.

Arts Officer

Benjamin Chang
The Arts Officer is responsible for encouraging participation in the arts at Ashdown House. They maintain a collection of artwork around Ashdown (both inside the House and in the courtyards) as well as provide arts-related opportunities for Ashdown residents.
ashdown-arts (at)

Brunch Committee

Xiaotong Kevin Zhang

William Wang

Jongwoo Lee

Katherine Young

Nathan Faialaga

Andrew Lew

Amogh Sood

Zackery Ely

Fengyi Li

Charu Sharma
The Brunch Committee organizes brunches on Sunday mornings at noon in Ashdown’s Hulsizer Room approximately once a month.
ashdown-brunch (at)

Brunch Committee Co-chairs

Ruoxuan Yang

Henry K Tran

ashdown-brunch-chair (at)

Cherry Pie Society Officer

Chengzhao Richard Zhang
The Cherry Pie Society Officer runs and coordinates Ashdown’s intellectual discussion group, the Cherry Pie Society.
ashdown-cherry (at)

Coffee Hour Committee

Martin Arreola Villanueva

Julie Poullet

Yu Ren Zhou

Tomoya Sasaki

Joy Zeng

Mina Dalirrooyfard

Abhin Shah

Jialin Ding

Vishrant Tripathi

Benjamin James Ayton
The Coffee Hour Committee organizes Ashdown's weekly coffee hour every Thursday night at 9 pm in the Hulsizer Room. This long-standing tradition provides residents with a great setting to relax and socialize while enjoying snacks and coffee.
ashdown-coffee (at)

Coffee Hour Committee Co-chairs

Margaret Lee

Farnaz Jahanbakhsh

ashdown-coffee-chair (at)

Communications Officers

Yipfun Yeung

Arun Krishnadas
The Communications Officers record and disseminate information in Ashdown. At least one Comm Officer takes detailed notes at each AHEC meeting. The Comm Officers also create the IAP/Summer Alumni Newsletters and aid with the “Welcome Brochure” for new residents during August.
ashdown-comms (at)

Communities Committee Chair

Haley Schilling

ashdown-communities-chair (at)

Community Service Officer

Kanika Gakhar
The Community Service Officer is responsible for running and coordinating Ashdown volunteer events. They will act as a liaison between groups requiring volunteers and Ashdown residents.
ashdown-community-service (at)

Events Committee

Kyprianos Gkirgkis

Shashi Gowda Krishnegowda

Julius Adebayo

Basuhi Ravi

Halston Lim

Brian Yi

Vasudevan Sahana

Alan Robert Sage

Mesert (Mesi) Kebed

Georgia Dimaki

Sara A Sheffels

Sai Nithin Redd Kantareddy
The Events Committee plans and runs large and small events at Ashdown, either for Ashdown residents or the entire MIT graduate community. They plan Orientation activities, general social events, non arts-related outings, culturally-themed events and Ashdown traditions that are open to the entire MIT Graduate Community.
ashdown-events (at)

Events Committee Co-chairs

Ziwei Li

ashdown-events-chair (at)

Floor Officers

Paxton Turner

Vaikkunth Mugunthan

Beldon Lin

Kruthika Kikkeri

Ian Ollis
Floor Officers serve as a residential assistants. They are responsible for encouraging interaction among residents and organizing floor events, overseeing the floor common areas and the use of floor bulletin boards, and voicing floor concerns to AHEC.
ashdown-officers-floor (at)

Inventory Subcommittee

Sohil Shah

Haihao Liu

Weiyue Zhou

Supratim Das
The Inventory Subcommittee maintains and tracks the status of resident facilities within Ashdown House and the Ashdown Courtyards, including the front desk/mailroom, lobby, laundry room, kitchen, AHEC storage closet, and gym equipment.
ashdown-inventory (at)

Operations Committee Chair

Cheng Feng Gary Lee

ashdown-ops-chair (at)

Outings & Athletics Officers

Manmeet Bhabra
The Athletics Officer coordinates athletics-related events in Ashdown, and serves as a liaison for other athletics-related events on campus. Tasks include coordinating Ashdown intramural sports teams and organizing Ashdown outings (basketball/hockey games, snowball fights/skating, etc).
ashdown-athletics (at)

Photographer Officer

Corban Swain
The Photographer documents life at Ashdown House, takes pictures at major events, and records Ashdown history.
ashdown-photo (at)

Publicity Chair

Neha Bokil
The Publicity Chair is the point of contact for other Ashdown officers and other dorm officers to request posters, etc. The Chair is in charge of delegating tasks within the Publicity team and compiling external events for the Anno.
ashdown-publicity-chair (at)

Publicity Subcommittee

Amir Tohidi Kalorazi

Can Pu

Sajjad Mohammadiyangijeh

Quynh Ngo
The Publicity Committee is collects and publicizes information about Ashdown, MIT, and off-campus events. The Committee send a weekly email (The Ashdown 3AM) to residents with updates and upcoming events, and organizes publicity campaigns for Ashdown events (this includes creating posters, printing them, and putting them up around campus).
ashdown-publicity (at)

Technology Subcommittee

Henry R Kilgore

James Lynch

Gulsagar Singh Jassar

Asma Ghandeharioun
The Technology Committee is maintains and improves the Ashdown website and computing facilities. The Technology Committee assists with the hallway displays throughout the building as well as other AV systems in the common areas.
ashdown-tech (at)

© 2019 MIT. Please report feedback about this website to ashdown-webmaster (at)